6wk Post Surgery Update

updateSo much has happened since my RNY gastric bypass surgery 6 weeks ago. I thought I was pretty prepared for what I was in store for but I’m starting to think that I was wrong! I knew I’d lose weight, I knew that I’d have cravings that I wouldn’t be able to satisfy, I knew I’d have to workout and wouldn’t want to, I knew that I’d run into people who were jealous and spiteful, and I was ready for each of those things. However, I wasn’t ready for my taste buds to change. I wasn’t ready to be cold all of the time, I wasn’t ready to be so nauseous and I definitely wasn’t ready for my ass to hurt so damn much! I mean c’mon, its like I have no padding left, AT ALL! I guess its a good thing because it does get me up and moving more since sitting for any time at all makes my tailbone feel like its breaking through my rear end. Oh and chicken, I am so seriously sick of chicken. I have made it every possible way and now the very smell of it makes me sick to my stomach. AND speaking of smells…it’s like I have some super power now in the middle of my face. My nose has turned into this weapon that can sniff out the tiniest odor, pleasant or foul. I feel like the Beverly Hillbilly’s hound dog. Sheesh!

Things that I used to like, I can no longer stand. I used to love grape flavored drinks for example. Now, I can’t tolerate the smell of them let alone the taste, and it literally happened over night. Seriously! One day I was drinking a Powerade Zero grape flavored water enhancer. then when I got up the next morning to take my pills, I had some leftover from the night before. I went to take a sip, and gagged. *UGH* It was horrible. I couldn’t understand what was causing my nausea. So I put my sniffer to work, and sure enough, it was the grape drink! I got rid of everything grape flavored immediately.

It’s crazy how often I get nauseous. If it’s not smells, it’s foods, and there is NO rhyme or reason to it. Tums and Zofran have become new good friends of mine. I talked to the nurse at the office and she said that it is a pretty common thing that happens when transitioning from pureed to solid foods and should gradually subside. In the meantime, it’s definitely no fun!

Same thing with being cold all of the time. I used to keep the heat set on 67-68 degrees. Now I’m like a lil old lady with a throw on top of me all the time and the heat is set on 70-72! *WTF* I have no idea why this happens, but believe it, because it is true. However, I still sleep with a fan on regardless of the thermostat and outside temperature! I doubt anything will stop that from happening.

As of this past Tuesday I am down 45 lbs and feeling good overall. I weigh myself once a week, and take monthly pics to compare my progress. Already I am off insulin and my blood pressure is stabilized. I go to my GP on Monday and hope to get off some more medications. I will update more info on that once I know more, but so far so good as far as I am concerned.

YogaWhen it comes to working out, I have been going to this yoga class at my gym the past 2 weeks and am thinking about signing up for personal training lessons next month. I would have them once a week. I know that I probably should be going more often that I have been, but for me to be actually going at all is an accomplishment in itself. I have also been walking the neighborhood. My distance and time has been improving with each walk. My lil dog, Louie, sure does enjoy walking with me, but the weather has been crazy lately so hopefully we will be able to do more walks as it gets nicer out.

My knees have been holding up ok, but my shoulders have been a little sore since I’ve started yoga. Not sure if its because of the yoga or the weather. Either way they aren’t horrible, but I have noticed they are getting more sensitive. I might have to go back for some more cortisone shots soon. I am impressed though that I haven’t needed any NSAIDs like I thought I would, and since I cant take them anymore as a bariatric patient, it’s a relief that I haven’t needed them.

I have spent a lot of time finding a lot of recipes on Pinterest for low carb swaps and substitutes. I think I have found just about every cauliflower, wonton, spaghetti squash, sugar free or cloud bread recipe there is on there. I’m also following a lot of the keto recipes but not sure how I feel about high fat yet.

The best thing I have noticed since surgery is that I am not hungry all of the time. I was thinking the other day, I thought to myself; “I gave up all the carbs, I’ve dome damn good redoing all of my eating habits. I bet I could have done this on my own without surgery.” NOPE! No way! I was always hungry before, and now I’m not. Now 2-3oz of something and I’m full. Sometimes it doesn’t even take that much. That is thanks to Dr. Lahmann!

I am very fortunate to have a good support group around me. People who love me and want to see me succeed. I can’t express how much that helps and makes it easier to achieve my goals. I still have a long way to go but I have no doubts that I will get there. I’ve already decided that I am going to celebrate my one year surgiversary on a beach with my girls. Not quite sure where. Don’t really care about that, as long as my ass is in the sand with a drink in my hand and the sun on my face and my friends by my side!

Anchor_On_The_Beach_2560x1600

What's Your Opinion?

