This past Sunday was a memorable one for me. I chose to get baptized. I was baptized Catholic as a baby, as still hold my faith close to me. I currently attend a nondenominational Christian Church that I love, and had a very enlightening discussion with our Pastor about the differences between sprinkle, dunking, and immersion baptisms. I felt that at this time in my life (especially with my surgery happening) I wanted to reaffirm my relationship with Jesus, similar to a married couple renewing their vows. This is why I decided to make the choice to be baptised. I will never forget how I felt that day. Light as air, it was wonderful! Truly a blessed day.

Pictures from my Baptism 2/5/17

Tomorrow morning at 8am CST I join the loser’s bench when I go for my laparoscopic gastric bypass. I thought I’d be more nervous or anxious,  but I just feel ready.

Ready to take back my life, ready to not have worry about where I’m gonna sit. Ready to live with out pain in my knees when I walk. Ready to be healthy. Ready to lower my health risks…just ready for life!

I do have some nerves as far as the actual surgery. I like to think I have a relatively high threshold for pain, but let’s face it…I don’t have anything real to measure it against. I’ve never broken a bone, never had a surgery where they had to cut me open (or cut through muscle), never had a baby. This outta be interesting! 

I have stuck to my preop diet precisely. I’ve been logging all meals, glucose, BP, weight and exercise activities since October. I know I’m in the right mind set for this. I have done all the research I could do and have been cleared by my doctors. I have a fantastic support group around me of family and friends and Church. 

I know it won’t be easy, nothing worth having rarely ever is…I do however know it’s going to be worth it, and I’m ready…BRING IT ON!

What's Your Opinion?

